5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Headlights

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2012, 12:13 PM

Headlights

I'm new to cars, this is my first one, don't know a lot about them. Can somebody explain headlights to me? I know this sounds like a dumb question, but I mean, like HID lights, and can I get HID lights, and what even are HID lights? What's xenon, why are Projector headlights bad, is it easy to take them out, is it easy to paint them, can somebody just explain everything to me about headlights?

Basically, what I want to do is get brighter bulbs for my fog lights and headlights, I also want the stock headlights and tail lights, painted black, I like the stock headlights, or OEM I guess they're called? I don't like that amber color though and was wondering if that could be replaced, and also if I kept it, could it be brighter? Can somebody just answer those questions please? I have a 2002 Nissan Maxima SE.

Can I get HID bulbs?
What are projector headlights?
Can I replace that amber color with a different color?
Can I make that amber color brighter?
Is it hard to do the wiring, and if so what wiring specifically, so I can go and ask a mechanic to do it for me.
Is it hard to paint the head lights black, and if no or yes, can somebody tell me what exactly is getting painted black? I think it's called "housing"?

I know I could research all day, but I'd rather get an explanation from somebody who knows what they're talking about and can make it simple. Thank you in advanced.

Those are my headlights

Last edited by John Rutecki; 08-04-2012 at 12:23 PM.
Old 08-04-2012, 12:23 PM

Originally Posted by John Rutecki