5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Advice on Purchasing a Maxima

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2017, 11:10 AM

Advice on Purchasing a Maxima

Hello, I'm considering purchasing a 2000-2003 Maxima for a driver. I'm just wondering if a person found one with say 60k miles that has been well maintained and no rust or under would you pay over $5k for that Maxima? Or would you buy one that has near 100k that and for $3k and do repairs as needed? Just curious to hear some thoughts on this as I'm trying to considering which way to go? My thoughts lean toward the low mileage car that has been serviced but, some I have seen are priced toward $5500 and $6k. Thank you in advance.
Old 04-08-2017, 08:18 PM

A well taken care of vehicle ( Total package) command a premium price. If you have the money to get a well taken care of maxima I say do it. I bought one barely running for $500, but I'm a mechanic. I don't take my car to the mechanic I jack it up and say "That needs to be replaced and I do it. Even though I'm fairly new to this forum I have a wealth of car knowledge behind me. Look for good paint, good interior, and service record if you're going to pay a premium price. People who take good care of their car like to keep records usually.
Old 04-08-2017, 09:13 PM

Originally Posted by usaf2000
I'm just wondering if a person found one with say 60k miles that has been well maintained and no rust or under would you pay over $5k for that Maxima? Or would you buy one that has near 100k that and for $3k and do repairs as needed? Just curious to hear some thoughts on this as I'm trying to considering which way to go? My thoughts lean toward the low mileage car that has been serviced but, some I have seen are priced toward $5500 and $6k. Thank you in advance.