5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Front Strut Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2017, 06:33 AM
Newbie - Just Registered

Front Strut Replacement

I've got an '01 Maxima in need of some new front struts. It's got 140k on it, and I'm a student hoping I can make this baby run for a while more yet. I just commute on it, I drive it pretty normal/easy.

That being said, I'd like recommendations on the age-old desire for a cheapish part that will be reliable. I'm also going with the strut+spring assembly for a little easier time replacing them.

Currently skimming RockAuto gives me these options:

Ultra-Power ~$70
FCS ~$82
OSC ~$88
Monroe Econo-Matic ~$99
Monroe Quick-Strut ~$140
Gabriel Ultra-ReadyMount ~$142

Any particularly impressive or particularly terrible options here? Worth sinking a little extra money into it or could I look more on the low end?

Thanks for the help in advance!
Old 08-17-2017, 07:08 AM

They're all terrible.

That said, and given the fact that you're on a budget, I believe your purposes are best served by either the Quick strut or the Gabriel.
Old 08-17-2017, 07:52 AM
Newbie - Just Registered

Okay, well I'm not attached to Rock Auto. Are there other brands you'd suggest that are reliable but not too high end?
Old 08-17-2017, 08:01 AM

No, you start to get into premium stuff like KYB and Tokico after that, and nothing preassembled so I think you're best with the Gabriel or Munroe.
Old 08-17-2017, 08:07 AM

Another option would be to buy the strut and have a shop install it in your assembly.
If a shop has a proper spring compressor they can do it in a few minutes. You may be surprised if you call around to some shops and offer to bring the assemblies to them.
It'll most likely be cheaper than buying the whole assembly and less of a pain than borrowing a compressor and doing it yourself.