6th Generation Maxima (2004-2008) Discussion of the 6th generation Maxima. Come see what others are saying.

Dropping off car at Nissan service center

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2004, 08:08 AM

Dropping off car at Nissan service center

Hey everyone;
Newbie here posting what might seem as a dumb question, but it has been bugging me.

If you guys drop off your vehicles to have work performed under warranty, do you or do you not get a temporary vehicle from nissan to drive for that day? I was under the impression that you would get a car.

I ask because since i have bought my car i have taken it to the dealer four times now for little things, and everytime I have to ask a co-worker or a friend for a ride (i hate depending on others). I also wnt to know so they do not BS me when i ask them for one.

And in this situation, i am taking the car back because the service personell left finger prints all over my display screen when they replaced it. And my panels coming off.
Old 12-30-2004, 08:15 AM

I dont think they automatically give you a loaner. My dealership had a a promotion where if you had over $250 of service you would get a loaner, but this was the only time they offered that to me.
Old 12-30-2004, 08:17 AM

As your warranty manual states, Nissan is not responsible for alternate transportation even if your vehicle is in the shop for warranty work. It is 100% dealer discretion if they chose to offer you a loaner....not Nissan.

You had a couple options when considering your new Nissan:

1.) Buy a Security Plus warranty policy as one of the many benefits is loaner cars.
2.) Buy an Infiniti or some other premium car.
3.) Buy a Max from a dealer that has a loaner car program, some do and some don't.

Let's face it, the max is a nice car, but afterall it is a Nissan...you take your max to the same place the lady with the rusted out Sentra goes.