7th Generation Maxima (2009-2015) Come in and talk about the 7th generation Maxima

CXJ Spacers Install questions

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2013, 02:11 PM

CXJ Spacers Install questions

So ive ordered the CXJ manifold spacers months ago, but those parts have been sitting in my apt, with other mods ive purchased and have yet to install (mainly because ive been super busy with work and other things).

Im creating this post mainly to the guys that have already installed the spacers, im new to to engine work, but im gonna tackle this install with a friend who has experience in this region. To cut to the chase, i have 3 questions to ask regarding the install:

1. For the throttle body bypass, did anyone skip this step? Im debating skipping it just because it does get cold sometimes in NY, i also dont wanna run into any serious problems by bypassing the coolant. Anyway, for those that skipped this step, did you still notice a decent boost in performance?

2. I know not to touch the throttle body valve, i just wanna get an idea if the valve is easily moved? Because i dont want to remove the throttle body, and as im applying the spacer i dont want the valve to move on its own from me just handling it.

3. The end of the DIY doc mentions doing amd ECU reset, an idle relearn and a throttle valve closed position learning, just curious but are these necessary?

Like i said im sort of new to engine work, (although im pretty good with tools and my hands) any tips/advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance everybody!
Old 07-28-2013, 03:52 PM

Originally Posted by kaoz
So ive ordered the CXJ manifold spacers months ago, but those parts have been sitting in my apt, with other mods ive purchased and have yet to install (mainly because ive been super busy with work and other things).