7th Generation Maxima (2009-2015) Come in and talk about the 7th generation Maxima
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Used 2009 Maxima SV Maintenance (89,800 miles)

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2014, 08:23 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Used 2009 Maxima SV Maintenance (89,800 miles)

Hi all! I recently bought a used Maxima. On carfax, the previous owner did manufacturer's recommended maintenances regularly and kept the car nice and clean. Well it is my first car ever, and I don't know how to maintain a car. I have been researching online to get some information, but I found so much variation. Some say I have to invest money and follow the manufacturer's recommended maintenance schedule, but I found this very expensive. I am a broke college student . Some say I just have to change oil and replace things when broken and follow the state inspection (PA) regularly because Nissans are very reliable. I need help guys. How should I maintain my car efficiently? If I change fluids, tires, and components of my Maxima, how often do I do so specifically? I know that there is a lot of experts out there in this forum that could give me great advice! Thank you so much!
Old 10-28-2014, 05:36 AM

Make sure you have done a CVT fluid change/flush. Nissan recommends you do it every 50-60k miles but I do it about every 75k. The NS-2 fluid costs a pretty penny so doing it yourself isn't a bad idea. Other than that, basic maintenance and rust prevention are key. I live in the midwest and the road salt has taken tolls on some of my previous Maximas. Whenever I wash my car I make sure to scrub the fender lips.
Old 10-28-2014, 07:18 PM