Audio and Electronics Discuss in-car entertainment systems, audio and video systems, car alarms and other electronics topics.

Buying subs

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2004, 08:11 AM
Go Hokies!!

Buying subs

I'm new to the car audio scene, and I'm a bit confused with the subs. I see many online stores sell more of the non-enclosed subs (not in boxes). Do they expect us to build a box for the sub, or what? I think I'm missing something here..

Thanks,
Dan
Old 07-23-2004, 10:19 AM

you can build a box or you can buy a pre-built boxes.
Old 07-23-2004, 11:28 AM

To elaborate on kgb's posting:

If you decide to build a box, you will save a lot of money. Custom shops will charge up to $200, $300, and up, to build you a box. Depending on the complexity, they may have $20 to $50 of materials tied up in materials. The rest cost is labor and knowledge. We can't help with labor but we can help with knowledge. Here's a good tutorial on box building. You also need to know how to use power tools without cutting off your fingers.

If you decide on a pre-fab box (like the cheap ones from Wal-Mart) then you need to look the quality of the box. Is it made out of 3/4" MDF and not 1/2" particle board? Is it adequately braced? It is the correct size for my sub? If it's ported, what is the tuning frequency? Is the mounting hole the correct size for my sub? Again, we can help you here. A good pre-fab enclosure should be build like the ones from Sub Zero.

-Robert
Old 07-23-2004, 01:17 PM

if you want cheap yet solid for the price prefabs check out bigdogaudio.com
Old 07-23-2004, 01:21 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

Screw the box, i am thinking 12" inch kicker sola bacric subs, what do you guys think of those?
Old 07-23-2004, 01:24 PM

which one, l7, comp vr's. how many and what size, and what box?
Old 07-23-2004, 08:34 PM