Audio and Electronics Discuss in-car entertainment systems, audio and video systems, car alarms and other electronics topics.

speaker junkies help please

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2008, 03:49 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

speaker junkies help please

Im not sure how similar Home PA/Karaoke systems are to car stereo but i had a basic question. yes im a noob at stereo stuff.

My pops just bought a new PA package to play karaoke on during family parties, the speakers are rated for 400 watts RMS, 800 peak. its a 2 way cab, 15inch woofer and a 1.75inch titanium tweeter on a horn.

He bought a power mixer handle the speakers. its are rated for 215 watts RMS at 8ohm and like 400 at 4ohms.

i think the speakers are 8 ohm. it looks like i will be under power the speakers by like 40%, is that gonna blow my speakers b/c of clipping. i don't think he'll ever really play the speakers at anywhere near full volume. my living room is only like 30x30 ft ???

thanks for any help/answers.
the mixer is a Behringer PMP3000, the speakers are Behringer B1520 Pro....
Old 06-04-2008, 10:27 PM

erll if the setup is rated at 4 ohms ur in and eveything runs and is power great. However, if it is 8 ohms thats ok too. You question about clipping is a good one and i actually just read up a lil more in depth on clipping earlier today while i was at work. Clipping can ruin your speaker plain and simple. However, clipping is causes by not enough signal by the amp which produces noise which in turn burns out the speaker. It still sends a signal, but its a **** one. That is what ruins the speaker. Just keep the volume moderate. The power that is going to the system either way is alot, i used to dj and i was putting 150 watts to each speaker and it was ****ing loud as ****, no issue at all. Like i never had to max them out it was so loud. You should be fine
Old 06-04-2008, 11:07 PM