Audio and Electronics Discuss in-car entertainment systems, audio and video systems, car alarms and other electronics topics.

Carputer / CarPC setup.

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2008, 05:14 PM

Carputer / CarPC setup.

This is my first time in the ICE department but I plan on coming in doing it all at once (for cheap )

My Plans:

Lilliput EBY701 7" Touch screen LCD VGA PC MONITOR

Small Form PC
---Mobo w/ Intel Atom 1.6Ghz and onboard Intel GMA 950 video card incorporated into a 11.8" x 9.5" x 2.6" black case with power supply built in.
---160Gb Sata HD
---1Gb 200pin Ram (may go 2Gb but trying to keep the price down)
---CD/DVD Combo (no burning needed)

Accesories:
USB Wireless Card
USB Mouse/Keyboard (possibly wireless in future)
Maybe a Tv/Fm Tuner (not sure if they make DTV tuners yet tho)
GPS antenna/software

Why:
Music player-I should be able to hook this up to the aux input of my headunit and play all my 20 gigs of mp3s.

Dvd player-keep the girl happy on long trips

GPS

Tuning (my ZT-2 is ready to be hooked up via USB)

Internet (when its pick-up-able)

And everything else a small computer in a car is good for.

How:
I plan on using the program roadrunner

So ya that is my plan. My brother is very good at making pc's (doing the BIOS setup stuff) and I am good at car wiring and am not afraid to take apart my center console. I came up with this setup today and I guess im here to see if anyone with carputer experience has any suggestions.

Also my biggest concern is:
Will this all hold up fine in winter or is something you uninstall in winter?? (lets say -20* F worst case to be on safe side, however 0* to 10*F common) What about moisture? I will keep the whole unit in the cab, nothing in the trunk.

Also the basic computer/screen setup is about $415. This doesnt include the accessories i listed. I say this is cheap cause to have all the features this has in separate units gets very pricey!

Last edited by black_maxed95; 10-22-2008 at 06:22 PM.