Audio and Electronics Discuss in-car entertainment systems, audio and video systems, car alarms and other electronics topics.

4th Gen audio component suggestions

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2011, 01:22 PM

4th Gen audio component suggestions

My car is a non-bose model and all of the speakers are pretty much blown. In the process of finding a nice stereo w/ ipod hookup and I already have a 4 channel Alpine amp as well as 10" Jensen sub ready to be hooked up, but I have no idea what kind of component speakers would be best.

Ive been looking at Alpine Type R components as well as rockfords, JL audio etc. Are these speakers overkill? Should I get the same (same as in 2 channel all around instead of 2 channel in the front and 3 channel in rear) 6.5 speakers for the front and rear? Im not very experienced in car audio/electronics.

Not really trying to spend a lot on components if they arent going to give the best sound throughout the entire car... Suggestions???
Old 08-31-2011, 05:02 PM

If you are looking for something good and cheap look at two choices that I think rock for the money.

First depending where you live find a Hertz Dealer. Brand is newer in the US but they have the Dieci series. The model DSK 165 look cheap but sound really good. I used to sell Hertz, I made people listen to them then make them guess how much they cost. Always overshot. Depending if you can get them they should be $150 for a set. Really good mid and clean highs.

Second look at the JL Audio TR650-CSi, entry level component but def sound awesome. These should run you $150 as well.

As for the back just get coaxial speakers ( Speakers that have the tweeter mounted in front of midrange speaker ), they can go for $100 a pair respectively.

Now if you only want something to jam to and your really not looking for super loud output just get two sets of coaxial speakers.