General Maxima Discussion This a general area for Maxima discussions for all years. For more specific questions, visit one of the generation-specific forums.

Urgent. Calling manuatranny experts. Even in gear it acts like its in neutral. (more)

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2003, 06:58 PM

Urgent. Calling manuatranny experts. Even in gear it acts like its in neutral. (more)

ok guys. this is NOT a problem on a maxima, but on a manual 1987 toyota corolla. I'd appreciate it if you could chime in and suggest what to do.

The gear goes in fine, but the car doesnt move. It's as if the car is still in neutral. It does that for all gears, including Reverse. When revving like this, with the car in gear but not moving, there are no unsual sounds. What could be wrong? Shift linkage? and is this a DIY job? There were no suggestive symptoms before. It just started doing this TODAY.

The car belongs to a friend and he thinks i'm a hardcore DIY mechanic, but man things like this are out of my realm. But I plan to use this opportunity as a learning experience. I need to tell him whether this can be a DIY job or whether to just throw the car away.

Please advise. thank you.
Old 06-17-2003, 07:35 PM
U wanna try me young boy?

I would say clutch, but a clutch typically fails in the engaged position (ie engine and tranny linked) whereas is sounds like the corolla is stuck in the disengaged position.

Definitely check the shifter linkage. You should hear the tranny making clunking/clicking noises as you shift gears (with the engine off). Watch the shifter linkage at the tranny to see if it it moving.