General Maxima Discussion This a general area for Maxima discussions for all years. For more specific questions, visit one of the generation-specific forums.

Better for You but not so good for your engine

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2001, 05:35 PM
Maxdude00

Hey whats up? This works great especially with the Maximas... When driving at cruising speeds like 50 60...And then u hit a light and you know how all of us hate pressing our breaks right? Well when you are driving that fast then what i do but if you do it alot it ruins youre engine... Your in Drive.. Try to slow down to a nice speed 30 40 around that.. Put your lever into 2nd shift and then 1st shift... After that when the light is green 1st shift will let you go up to about 25 miles per hour.. You then go from first to Drive and your set.. WARNING.. if you do it periodically it MIGHT ruin ur engine... It hasnt with mine because i am a great driver and it burns gas but its better for your breaks.. there is PRO and CON side.. Aight peace out

Old 03-06-2001, 05:45 PM
Minister of Silly Walks

Yes this can help but I usually go by the simple philosophy that the engine is for making the car go and brakes (everyone needs to learn how to spell this) are for making the car stop.

Simple.
Old 03-06-2001, 05:48 PM

That's insane. Brake pads are a lot cheaper than trannies. Might work like that for a manual transmission car, but don't do it in an automatic.
Old 03-06-2001, 05:56 PM

Originally posted by Pancor
That's insane. Brake pads are a lot cheaper than trannies. Might work like that for a manual transmission car, but don't do it in an automatic.
You took the words right out of my mouth...

New brakes - $75
New Tranny - $2500
The look on your face as you realize this as you're stuck on the side of the road unable to move - Priceless.
Old 03-06-2001, 06:23 PM

lmao!

Originally posted by The_quorum
Originally posted by Pancor
You took the words right out of my mouth...

New brakes - $75
New Tranny - $2500