General Maxima Discussion This a general area for Maxima discussions for all years. For more specific questions, visit one of the generation-specific forums.

Getting aftermarket parts through insurance... questions

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2004, 02:28 PM
wants the ads to die

Getting aftermarket parts through insurance... questions

I recently had a meeting with a light pole and my rear end. Yes, I know that sounds completly retarded, but it was raining so hard that I couldn't see if I was even on the driveway, the tint in my rear window has bubbled up, and the glass was foggy so it was impossible to see out of my rear view mirror. Yes, I know it was my fault, I should have gotten out and looked but sh*t happens. I'm a young driver and it was bound to happen as much as I hoped it wouldn't but on with the topic.

I'm going to have to replace my bumper, possibly the bar that runs the length of the bumper, the trunk and the spoiler. Now, I thought that this would be a wonderful opportunity to do the '97-'99 rear end conversion since I love the way it looks. While doing so I'd like to get a pair of red/clears. My tail lights aren't broken, but... Anywho, I would also like to replace the spoiler with the Type 2 model.

My question is, how would I go about doing this, if it's possible. If I were to have the body shop order those parts it would mean my car would stay in the shop that much longer unless I call the shop ahead of time to see if they could do this. Also, would this all go unnoticed to the insurance company? Thanks in advanced.
Old 09-07-2004, 02:51 PM
STFU n00b!

Originally Posted by Deagle
I recently had a meeting with a light pole and my rear end.
That had to hurt!
Originally Posted by Deagle
.......but it was raining so hard that I couldn't see if I was even on the driveway.......
Okay, here's the part I don't get... The weather was so bad that YOU COULDN'T SEE THE ROAD, yet you were trying to drive your car?! uhhhhhhhhh.
Old 09-07-2004, 02:56 PM