General Maxima Discussion This a general area for Maxima discussions for all years. For more specific questions, visit one of the generation-specific forums.

PanCake Breakfast for Wife

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2005, 10:18 PM

PanCake Breakfast for Wife

I wanted to write a thread on this before but thought it wouldn't be right to do. My wife Traci has been diagosed with a disease called Myasthenia Gravis. She's only 34 yrs old and has her whole life ahead of her. Well she did till she was diagosed a little over 2 yeaars ago. She has been admitted to Johns Hopkins twice in those two years getting ChemoTherapy treatments. Both Chemo treatments did not work. Right now she is on her third time of Chemo but is now doing it locally here in New Jersey. I met her just about 3 yrs ago, a Nurse who loved to ride her Harley Davidson, She loved to work out, Ski, Rollerblade and anything else to get her outdoors. now she is very limited in what she does. I am a Police Officer and belong to the Fraternal Order of Police, Middletown NJ. The Union has planned a Pancake Breakfast in order to help the both of us with Major Bills and other things like a Working Dog to help her get through the days and nights when she is weak.

A little information on this disease.
Myasthenia gravis: Most often, an acquired disorder that results in fatiguable muscle weakness, made worse by activity and improved with rest. It results from an autoimmune attack against the nerve-muscle junction. Other forms of the illness are caused by architectural changes of the nerve-muscle junction.