General Maxima Discussion This a general area for Maxima discussions for all years. For more specific questions, visit one of the generation-specific forums.

Why you decided to buy the Maxima?

Old 10-07-2017, 09:18 AM
Newbie - Just Registered

Why you decided to buy the Maxima?

Hey, I'm new to the forum and had some questions about why everyone bought the Maxima. I'm a transportation designer from Academy of Art University of San Francisco.
I wanted to know what about the Maxima attracted you (ex. features, performance, aesthetics, etc.)?
What do you feel like the falls short in and what could be done in feature to make it better?
Your feedback would be greatly appreciated.
Old 10-07-2017, 09:44 AM

Is any particular generation of Maxima the subject of your Q?

Assuming not, I'll offer this ...

I bought my 4th generation (1999 SE-L) back in MAR 1999 for four (4) reasons:

(1) The VQ30DE;
(2) Nissan's philosophy and priorities in the automotive industry;
(3) The Maxima's design/appearance;
(4) My wife liked it.

#s 2 and 3 have long since fallen by the way-side as Nissan has embarked on endeavors I understand not.

#4, I'll never admit to your face.

FWIW ... there has been nary a vehicle Nissan has produced in the last decade to decade and a half that I would own let alone cherish.

My '99 however, when Nissan was the true Nissan, I may never part with.
Old 10-07-2017, 10:50 AM
Banned

I bought a 6th gen in 2003 brand new because I thought it would be a better, less expensive and higher quality choice than used E classes...boy was I wrong it was a piece of ****. Ironically I now own a Land Rover and everybody thinks they are unreliable, it hasn't had a single problem or rattle since day 1. Never again, Nissan.
Old 10-07-2017, 08:41 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Thanks for replying. Any Maxima is good.
What kind of job did you have at the time or currently?
Did the packaging/space fulfill your needs?