1st & 2nd Generation Maxima (1981-1984 and 1985-1988) Learn more and share information about the 1st and 2nd Generation Maximas.

Where do I start?

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2003, 01:30 AM
Newbie - Just Registered

Where do I start?

Hi im new to the maxima scene and need some help.
I was recently given an 86 maxima that doesn't run
very well.It doesn't want to idle,sputters when you
take off and the exaust smells very rich but runs
great once its moving.I'm wondering if theres any
way for me to pull codes at home or what could be the cause.I've also purchased a coolant temp sensor but can't find anything that resembles it anywhere on the engine. Please help
Old 03-14-2003, 09:14 AM
I love lamp.

Re: Where do I start?

Originally posted by u-turn
Hi im new to the maxima scene and need some help.
I was recently given an 86 maxima that doesn't run
very well.It doesn't want to idle,sputters when you
take off and the exaust smells very rich but runs
great once its moving.I'm wondering if theres any
way for me to pull codes at home or what could be the cause.I've also purchased a coolant temp sensor but can't find anything that resembles it anywhere on the engine. Please help
Alright, to pull the codes off the ecu, here is the procedure on doing that, this was provided by alllw86:

The ECU self-diagnosis for an 86 are different from the +87 cars.
There are no additional modes to get into.

There's nothing wrong with your ECU giving you the code 23/31, you
didn't completed the full procedure correctly so those codes came up.

To do the self test on the 86 and probably 85 maxima, do the
following:

Verify mode selector is turned fully CCW
Turn ignition switch to "on" position
Inspection lamps will stay "on" (bulb check)
Turn mode switch fully CW
Depress accelerator pedal, then release
Start engine,
Apply brakes and shift to "D" position...nothing said for SE 5sp
Turn one of the load switches....OFF....ON....OFF...