3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

I know this seems to be a bad word but I have a question about Earl Scheib???

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2002, 06:45 PM

I know this seems to be a bad word but I have a question about Earl Scheib???

I have a 89 GXE I have rust kinda bad on the bottom of my fenders and I want to buy used fenders but I cant seem to find pearl white fenders anywhere Ive been calling junk yards all week and even if I did they wont be exaclty the same color but Im not ready to paint my car and I dont want to ride around with a mismatch car. Some time in the next 3 or 4 months after I find the fenders and get some other repairs done I was thinking about getting the car painted to blend the colors a little, but I have one small problem, I am a poor college student and I cant afford a 1500-2000 dollar paint job. How bad is an Earl Scheib paint job. I know you get what you pay for but will it be that bad. I mean I dont expect a factory quality paint job. Please someone help me out I dont know what to do.
Old 11-01-2002, 07:10 PM

Re: I know this seems to be a bad word but I have a question about Earl Scheib???

Earl Scheib is basically on the equivilent of Maaco.

It's hard to tell. All depends on management and employees at each specific location.

There's a Maaco by me that does REALLY good paint jobs....didnt say nice paint....I'm talking about strictly the job itself. Then there's also a Maaco by me that does REALLY bad paint jobs (which is a rarity).

For the most part though, stay away from Earl Scheib and Maaco. The biggest problem with them is their use of crappy paint and rushed preparation. But then again, whatdya expect for 200 bucks.
Old 11-01-2002, 07:13 PM

Re: Re: I know this seems to be a bad word but I have a question about Earl Scheib???

Originally posted by James12345
Earl Scheib is basically on the equivilent of Maaco.