3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

Some Questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2003, 01:21 PM

Some Questions

I have a question... I am new to the '94 Nissan Maxima. My aunt is giving me one that has 250,000miles on it , and needs a new altenator... It's not the best, but the car is free , and will be staying in my garage to be fixed. The transmission was said that it might go bad soon, but I don't know when.

Well here are the questions...

1.) Do all '94 Nissan Maximas come with a Bose sound system?, If so, do they have CD players?

2.) Is it hard to replace the altenator?, How much do they cost?

3.) I have been reading up about a lot of '94 Maximas, but nobody says how many miles they have on theirs, how long does the Maxima usually last?

4.) Can I replace parts in the tranmission, and hope that will solve my transmission problems?

Thanks for looking and I will post more when I get the car tomorrow (Sunday, August 3rd, 2003)

=->Evil Twin<-=
Old 08-02-2003, 01:36 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

trannies are usually big money, its oftern best to get one from a yard. The alternator is easy to replace, about 20 minutes. I don't know how much they cost, as I've never seen one go bad. I think Bose was an option unless it is an SE. I don't know about the CD player. 250,000 is getting up there, but not if it was maintained I don't know why it should be a problem.
Old 08-02-2003, 01:45 PM
Donating Maxima.org Member

Re: Some Questions

1.) Do all '94 Nissan Maximas come with a Bose sound system?, If so, do they have CD players?

They can be added via an aftermarket one, as just about everyone has already done. You can get a converter from your local car audio shop so the new deck can work with the existing Bose speakers (provided that you have them and they still work).

2.) Is it hard to replace the altenator?, How much do they cost?