3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

Woo Hoo! FIXED my door lock timer!!! (long)

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2001, 08:05 PM

First off, I'm a newbie here...I actually drive a 1992 Camry...the Max is my dad's car...don't hate me!

Anyway, screw paying $145 CDN for the door lock timer to fix your door locks! I know their $60 in the US but in Canada, everything is expensive. Anyway, I couldn't justify that kinda price for door locks so I just decided to fix it.

Put it this way, not much can go wrong with those things...unless they melt down from heat...otherwise, there's no physical parts in there EXCEPT for the relay! Relay's always break down so I'd thought I'd replace mine. Well, instead I tested it out with a multimeter and noticed it wasn't "clicking" properly. I did some minor adjustments, cleaned the contacts and stuck it back it...it worked! I'm sure many of you can do the same as well.

BTW, I'm no EE or anything but I'm pretty good with wiring and stuff...now if someone can just tell me WHERE IS THE HEATER RESISTOR PACK (fan amplifier?)? I know it's beside the fan blower but what does that look like??? Please help me!

Henry

leftylee@hotmail.com
Old 06-05-2001, 08:07 PM

Sorry about the repeat post...it said connection timed out....
Old 06-05-2001, 10:10 PM

Originally posted by Hen92
First off, I'm a newbie here...I actually drive a 1992 Camry...the Max is my dad's car...don't hate me!

Anyway, screw paying $145 CDN for the door lock timer to fix your door locks! I know their $60 in the US but in Canada, everything is expensive. Anyway, I couldn't justify that kinda price for door locks so I just decided to fix it.