3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

1991 maxima eng cont relay buzzing

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2012, 10:21 AM
Newbie - Just Registered

1991 maxima eng cont relay buzzing

hello, i am new to this site. i am an electrician not a mechanic at all. i have a 1991 nissan maxima. the "eng cont" relay is buzzing and the engine is running rough and will stall unless i maintain some pressure on the gas pedal. i replaced the relay and it still made the same buzzing/vibrating. the buzzing occurs while the car is turned off without the keys in the ignition and while running. i have exhaustively searched the internet and autoparts stores for a wiring diagram/schematic so that i may begin troubleshooting this but i cannot find anything but some windshield wiper and headlight diagrams...please help me as i need to drive this car to work and it would take weeks/months to test all the wires for loose connections as i do not know their layout or purpose?
Old 04-01-2012, 02:19 PM

Originally Posted by broken1991maxima
hello, i am new to this site. i am an electrician not a mechanic at all. i have a 1991 nissan maxima. the "eng cont" relay is buzzing and the engine is running rough and will stall unless i maintain some pressure on the gas pedal. i replaced the relay and it still made the same buzzing/vibrating. the buzzing occurs while the car is turned off without the keys in the ignition and while running. i have exhaustively searched the internet and autoparts stores for a wiring diagram/schematic so that i may begin troubleshooting this but i cannot find anything but some windshield wiper and headlight diagrams...please help me as i need to drive this car to work and it would take weeks/months to test all the wires for loose connections as i do not know their layout or purpose?
a member gave me this link a while back its the cars factory service manual ..
http://www.nicoclub.com/FSM/maxima/1994/
Old 04-08-2012, 10:38 AM