3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

Want To Replace The BOSE!!!

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2002, 11:56 PM

Want To Replace The BOSE!!!

hey guys, I just bought a Sony CDX-C7850 HU off of my friend, practically brand new, sat in his house for a while. But, In my '92 SE i have the infamous BOSE factory sys. Now i'm told the best thing to do is just replace everything, so i guess thats what im gonna do, only im not an expert on speakers or anything, i was wondering what would be the best thing to do as far as setup, speaker types and everthing. Now i want something decent, at least a little better than the BOSE,if anyone would have any suggestions or any info that would help would be great, cuz i want a good sys. just nuttin thats gonna cost me a huge amount of $$. Also how much would the entire BOSE sys. in condition be worth, anyone know? -Steve
Old 01-24-2002, 04:41 AM
OG Maxima.org Member

Well, you present a couple of interesting scenarios here. Because first and foremost, you don't NECESSARILY have to replace everything in order to put the HU in. There is an adapter that either Scoche makes or some other manufacturer like Metra (I'm not too sure..) that will interface your aftermarket HU with the factory Bose speakers.

Of course, if you're dead set on replacing everything, there's probably a couple of things you need to know first, like speaker sizes and placement.

3rd Gen Maximas have 6x9 rear fill and 5 1/2 front speakers (correct me if I'm wrong anyone..). The fronts are mounted in a pod, of sorts, and the rears are on this big bracket-type thingie. All speakers are individually amplified, so if you're doing this, you'll have to either bypass the amps, or pull them out entirely. I did the latter, but the choice is ultimately yours!