4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Keven, Dave, Mishmosh, Hype, Ian, I need your help wiring a relay

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2002, 08:30 PM
SLOW

Keven, Dave, Mishmosh, Hype, Ian, I need your help wiring a relay

I have a relay which I've had forever. I have no instructions for it, just a little diagram that is drawn on the side of the relay. I'm no electronics expert, and I cannot figure out which contact is which. Are all relays generic and the contacts are wired the same inside? I will post a picture of the diagram in about 5 minutes when it uploads
Old 08-06-2002, 08:41 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

Most relays are very simple and generic, but who knows. Give us a picture of the wires, top of the relay, and the connectors (or a list would help). My Relay was as follows
1 / _ 2
3 (coil) 5

The best way to wire it is to understand how the relay works. When the Harlan grounds (3), the potential difference between the ground and the 12v (5) causes the switch to click (you'll hear it) and allow power to get to the device. (1) would be a 12v going into the relay, and (2) would be the 12v going out to the MAP Switch once the Harlan is activated to click the relay.
Sorry for the brief description, but I was involved in an accident today and I'm worn out. Keven can probably give you a better answer :P
-hype
Old 08-06-2002, 08:46 PM
SLOW

Hype, thanks for the explanation I believe I get it now. here is the picture of my relay just to be sure

http://www.cardomain.com/id/relay187
Old 08-06-2002, 08:50 PM

Originally posted by Nealoc187
Hype, thanks for the explanation I believe I get it now. here is the picture of my relay just to be sure

http://www.cardomain.com/id/relay187
30 is the 12v from the battery or elsewhere.
87 is the hot wire that runs to your MAP switch.
86 is from your Harlan.
85 is another 12v from the battery or elsewhere.

Good luck.
-hype