4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

upgrading to thicker wires to improve electrical system...

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2002, 09:51 AM
vicodin ... gift of life

upgrading to thicker wires to improve electrical system...

Well, I was reading that thread about upgrading the 3 electrical wires that was posted earlier this week. I went out and tried lookin for 0-2 gauge wires but couldnt find any sooooooo i was talking to my professor (im majoring in E.E.) and we figured that we'd get the same results if we used multiple 5-10 gauge wires. SO i'm gonna head out to Fry's Electronics today and get me a the lowest possible gauge wire they have, ADD it to the wire thats existing... and then use those cover tubing to hide it all. after i'm done ill post pics later this evening.

Is there any way to tell a difference in the system... the only thing i would figure is the car would probably start faster?
Old 09-21-2002, 11:55 AM

hey can someone tell plzzzzzzzzzzz for the love of god where these three wires are at??????
Old 09-21-2002, 01:39 PM
vicodin ... gift of life

Originally posted by s2cmpugh
hey can someone tell plzzzzzzzzzzz for the love of god where these three wires are at??????
LOL well i'm not totally sure ALL of em but the main one for sure is the wire that directly connects to the negative terminal of the battery and attaches to the chassis. The other wires... i have no idea. I'll probably go through every single wire (esp. the starter) and replace it if possible. I just came back from Fry's and now i'm gonna attempt to install it. Ill take pics of everything and post it tonite.
Old 09-21-2002, 03:44 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

Can't wait to see those pics.
Old 09-21-2002, 04:04 PM

you could go to your local car audio store and get fuked on some 1/0 gauge wire or, welding cables work very much the same if not better due to thicker insulation