4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Harlan switch/underhood heat

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2003, 12:23 AM
lp
Supporting Maxima.org Member

Harlan switch/underhood heat

I've got my RPM switch mounted in the engine bay secured between the battery and airbox with a layer of that OEM silver heatwrap material around it. Its been working perfectly since install but on occasion the plastic housing still gets fairly warm down there (as expected). Never to the point of thinking 'thats too damn hot' but pretty warm nonetheless.

Being an electrical novice I'm wondering what you guys think the safe heat limit of a component like the Harlan would be, and if anyone has had issues with mounting the switch underhood?
Old 02-11-2003, 05:19 AM
ejj
Donating Maxima.org Member

Re: Harlan switch/underhood heat

Originally posted by lp
I've got my RPM switch mounted in the engine bay secured between the battery and airbox with a layer of that OEM silver heatwrap material around it. Its been working perfectly since install but on occasion the plastic housing still gets fairly warm down there (as expected). Never to the point of thinking 'thats too damn hot' but pretty warm nonetheless.

Being an electrical novice I'm wondering what you guys think the safe heat limit of a component like the Harlan would be, and if anyone has had issues with mounting the switch underhood?
Mine's underhood, and I don't think I've ever notice it get even warm. Still works fine to this day. However, I mounted it in a location where it would see a descent bit of air:

http://www.ericj.org/maxima/img/NOS/IMAGE050.JPG

(Its in the blue zip ties)
Old 02-11-2003, 06:53 AM
Donating Maxima.org Member

Re: Re: Harlan switch/underhood heat

Originally posted by ejj