4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Took off midpipe and reinstalled resonator = better acceleration!!??

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2003, 12:14 PM
Not DAVEB the parts guy

Took off midpipe and reinstalled resonator = better acceleration!!??

After reading a couple posts from random members (can't remember thier names) saying that the midpipe made them slower, I decided to experiment. I've been running a midpipe for well over 3 years now so I definately know what it feels and sounds like. I reinstalled my stock resonator and went for a long drive. First thing is notice is better low rpm response. When I went WOT, my hacked airbox isn't as deep or loud. That kind of sucks because I like the sound plus I like hearing my MEVI open. It use to be like "get the F out my way" kind of a sound and now it's just a sporty snort kind of sound. I did a handful of WOT runs and I noticed the car definately doesn't feel any slower and I dare say it's quicker and this is in 90 degree weather. I punched it in 2nd at 4500rpms and my neck snapped back as if it were a cool 40 degrees out. Punching it on the highway was also impressive.

Just thought I'd share. You might want to try it out just for fun and see if you agree or disagree.

Dave
Old 07-10-2003, 12:41 PM

Well thats interesting. I was in the process of getting the mid pipe, but have not yet ordered it. I think I will probably hold off.
Old 07-10-2003, 12:48 PM

You know, this is the first time I actually looked at your cardomain site and your car looks pretty nice. I thought you had a 97-99 this whole time

Well anyway, I have the K&n filter w/o velocity stack, how would it compare if I were to throw on the JWT filter which has a velocity stack to my system?
Old 07-10-2003, 01:54 PM
Handsome

Re: Took off midpipe and reinstalled resonator = better acceleration!!??

Originally posted by Dave B