4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Hard ride. Why?

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2001, 07:12 AM

I am new to the Maxima experience (previous Mitsu Diamante owner). I now own a 97 GLE (29,000 miles)and would like to know from any of you Maxima enthusiasts if your Maximas ride "hard" (front suspension). I guess I am used to a soft, unimpending ride from the Mitsu, but feel that the Maxima rides a bit hard in the front (almost feels like there is some play in the suspension). I have Bridgestone Turanza tires (H rated) that I had on my previous car (fairly new). However, I feel a lot of banging coming from underneath my gas pedal, too much road feel. Is this normal with Maximas? Or should I be feeling a little isolation from the road instead? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.
Old 03-08-2001, 07:21 AM

Maximas are actually pretty loose and tend to glide over bumps. Are you sure that your tire pressures are right? The Maximas tire pressures are supposed to be in the mid to upper 20s, not 35 like most cars. Other than that, I can;t think of why you would think that the Maxima rides hard.
Old 03-08-2001, 07:31 AM

Thanks for replying to email. I have noticed that the tire pressure for 4th generation max's is 29 psi. However, I have my tires at 32 psi. Would this be affecting the ride? Wouldn't having my tires at 29 psi damage my tires. I drive 50 miles a day (highway). Need some insight.

Thanks!

Old 03-08-2001, 07:55 AM

Insight

Originally posted by maxnewbie
... I have noticed that the tire pressure for 4th generation max's is 29 psi. However, I have my tires at 32 psi. Would this be affecting the ride?
Yes.

... Wouldn't having my tires at 29 psi damage my tires.
No.
Old 03-08-2001, 07:43 PM
LoveMyMaximA

i kno wat ur talking about...