4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

How/Why did you choose YOUR 4th Generation Maxima??

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2004, 08:04 PM

How did you choose *YOUR* 4th Generation Maxima???

Just wondering how y'all who have maximas arrived at your decision to go with the Max. What other cars were you considering instead of a maxima? Was the maxima your dream car? Here's my story:

I'm 20 years old and have been driving my Dad's car ever since I got my driver's license. Yeah, it was bad. I saw many others types of cars and got ideas for potential models of my future car. I needed something AWD, 4WD, or FWD (Snow issues). I am also a poor college student, so I couldn't spend all THAT much money (less than 8k). I needed something practical, but FAST! Something classy, yet sporty. Reliability and mod potential was also important, hence the desire for a manuel transmission car.

Here was my potential list:
99-01 Grand Am GT Coupe. No because too slow, not reliable, not available in stick
95 Nissan 240 SX. No because extremely hard to find. RWD (bad in snow). Underpowered.
92-95 BMW 325Is 5-spd (Black). No because repairs/insurance too expensive. RWD so bad in snow. VERY close to getting one of these.
93-95 Honda Prelude Si. No b/c Ugly (IMO). lol.
96 Honda Accord 2Dr Coupe 5-spd. manuels underpowered. V6 only offered in auto. If modded, would have potential of ricer-ness
95 Acura Integra GSR 2Dr 5-spd. All power-weight ratio. No torque. VTECH is nice, but like more low end torque. Ricer potential.
97 Impreza 2.5 RS. Underpowered. not Aesthetically pleasing. Lacked class. (I dunno, not a fan of the subaru body styles). They all look the same to me. haha.
97-99 Maxima SE - HAD EVERYTHING I WANTED. Shame they aren't offered in coupe versions. Handling not the best, but Oh well. Sacrifices have to be made.