4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Help with my new Maxima's 5 speed

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2001, 09:44 PM

Hey, all. I just bought my uncle's Maxima, so I'm going to show up here from time to time. It's a 1996 SE with 5 speed. 77,000 miles. Alpine stereo with 12 disc changer. I love it. Good thing I have cruise control. Anyway, I was wondering if I could get some experienced feedback on the performance and shifting of the stock Maxima and its 5 speed. Best rpm launch speed, best passing gear, etc. I've never owned a manual before. Any intricasies that I can learn from others who know that car will save me time in getting to know it. Also, what are the first couple of cheap modifications that I will want to consider? I've heard the front stabalizer bar and a new exhaust make a big difference? I am a college student, so I won't have too much money to pump in, but I'd like to consider some relatively cheap mods. Thanks a lot!!
Old 03-19-2001, 10:20 PM

Originally posted by budha56
Hey, all. I just bought my uncle's Maxima, so I'm going to show up here from time to time. It's a 1996 SE with 5 speed. 77,000 miles. Alpine stereo with 12 disc changer. I love it. Good thing I have cruise control. Anyway, I was wondering if I could get some experienced feedback on the performance and shifting of the stock Maxima and its 5 speed. Best rpm launch speed, best passing gear, etc. I've never owned a manual before. Any intricasies that I can learn from others who know that car will save me time in getting to know it. Also, what are the first couple of cheap modifications that I will want to consider? I've heard the front stabalizer bar and a new exhaust make a big difference? I am a college student, so I won't have too much money to pump in, but I'd like to consider some relatively cheap mods. Thanks a lot!!