4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Manual vs. Automatic reliability?

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2004, 11:02 PM

Manual vs. Automatic reliability?

Okay, I realize this has probably been asked 17,000 times, but I went through the first 15 pages on this forum, and then I got bored so I decided to make a post.

In my search I found out some good general information. Basically, I'm looking to get a 4th gen pretty soon and I want to be apprised of any potential problems I could see in an older used car, especially transmission related, being as they're so expensive to fix. I only have around $6000 to spend, so unless I get lucky a super low mileage car is out of my price range. I'm just a poor college student that wants a car to be drivable without thousands of dollars worth of repairs a year after I buy it.

Are there any tell-tale signs of a dying transmission I should look for in potential purchases?

I'm fairly open to either type, manual or automatic. Is either type more reliable in general for this year set?

I've read that 95-96 manuals have a tendency to die around 60k miles. Should I be looking for a 97-99 then? Am I safe with a 95-96 manual that has 100,000+ miles?

I was also under the impression that manuals are cheaper to fix, is there any truth to that? I know the clutch needs replaced every so often, is that a substantial cost?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Mike
Old 05-28-2004, 12:20 AM

Well auto guys will tell you auto's are more reliable and cost eficent because you don't have to replace clutch. Manual guys will tell you a clutch is a small price to pay next to 2000 for a new auto trans if it breaks. Kinda 50-50. But I'm a manual guy so I would say get a stick. I've had two stick maxima's now with high miles and no problems. And they getter better gas milage. Just my .02
Old 05-28-2004, 03:10 AM