4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

New To Maximas (disregard my username)

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2004, 03:54 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

New To Maximas (disregard my username)

well, im new to Maximas and Nissan in general ,but i do have done a little research on the 4th gen and i like what ive found. The reason i made this thread was because i recently wrecked my Honda Prelude (hit from the rear, so im not at fault) and am considering getting a 98 Maxima GXE. I know the GXE is the base model but still carries the VQ30DE. its also a manual transmission and from what ive looked up about them it has a 0-60 of about 7-7.5 sec. Im just looking for any suggestions on what would be the basic mods that i should get first that are essential to a solid performing engine and just general comments.....thanks
Old 11-18-2004, 04:03 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

read ALLL the stickies and browse the forums berfore you post again. whatever question you have has been answered somewhere. take your time and look.
Old 11-18-2004, 04:04 PM
What was that?

Welcome. The first thing is a Y-pipe (15-18hp). Then go on from there. For looks the first thing is clear corners unless you want to go with the sleeper look. There's a lot you can do. http://maxmods.dyndns.org is a good site to go to.
Old 11-18-2004, 04:05 PM

Y-pipe and Intake (about $200 each) generally are the best bang for the dollar and should get you into the mid 14's quarter mile with manual. Great, fun, fast car that is also reliable and versatile and economical.
Old 11-18-2004, 04:08 PM
Newbie - Just Registered