4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

0707 code: Rear Heated O2 sensor

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2004, 04:01 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

0707 code: Rear Heated O2 sensor

I got the 0707 code (Rear Heated O2 sensor), and I wanted to ask how I know that this is really the problem. It has been posted in the past that this code can be caused by the FRONT sensors, or a problem with the cat. converter. Anyone have any thoughts on how I can find out the real problem? Thanks!

Also, where can I get a cheap O2 sensor?

Shawn
Old 12-23-2004, 04:04 PM

I've been running with a bad one since 1999, just can't bother to get it replaced again. Doesn't seem to do any harm and it has no influence on the ECU in terms of driveability or performance (that's what I've read here anyway).
Old 12-24-2004, 10:31 PM

anyone.....
Old 12-24-2004, 11:33 PM
2060lbs and falling...

The only way to tell the which it is is by getting an OBD-II scan tool or going to the dealer and have them diagnose it for ~$40. New sensors can be found at oxygensensors.com. Do not get the POS universal ones. Get the type that is produced for this car. Also, another way to check it quickly is to look at the actual sensor. It if looks at all like it has contacted anything it is surely dead. They are very sensative. And yes the rear does effect performance indirectly. If totally dead it read zero volts. This puts the engine into some sort of safe mode and causes it to run extremely rich. This reduces power and increases fuel consumption.

95bluse, if you get ~300mi/tank and your top speed is ~125 MPH you have a dead rear O2. Its costing you a lot on gas and power.
Old 12-25-2004, 03:17 AM
Donating Maxima.org Member