4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

has anyone had this problem before?

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2000, 04:49 AM

Yesterday my 95GLE was running perfect as always. I go to start my car to leave and it doesn't start. It doesn't do anything. I turn the key and that's it. If anyone has tried to start their car while it's in drive that's what it's like. The funny thing is a few hours later I try again and it starts right up. I drive if for 10 minutes, it get's nice and hot, then it won't start. So it starts when it's cold, but when it's hot, nothing. If anyone can help i would really appreciate it.

thank you
nick t.

Old 10-07-2000, 05:09 AM

I'm no mechanic, but based on my own personal experience, you might have a loose battery cable. If not that, it could be a corroded starter. Luck...
Old 10-07-2000, 05:53 AM
NeO OnE 2

Why would u start the car while in "D"?
Next time, open your hood and get something solid like a piece of "The Club" and hit the starter a few times and the car should start.

Old 10-07-2000, 09:29 AM

I wouldn't recommend hitting the starter with anything since it's a gear reduction type design with easily damaged permanent magnets (verses wire wound magnetic fields found on older designs) and very expensive to replace or repair.

If a loose battery cable connection, ground connection at the engine block or starter doesn't turn out to be your problem, it sounds like your starter motors brushes are worn to the point of only working intermittently due to increasingly iffy contact with the armatures commutator segments. This is a common way for starters to fail and, from what I gather, Maximas are notorious for this.
Old 10-07-2000, 09:40 AM
NeO OnE 2