4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Please Give Me Some Feedback

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2005, 04:05 PM
Donating Maxima.org Member

Please Give Me Some Feedback

I am basically a newb in the max market but have been doin some reading the past few weeks and have found out a thing or two. I am looking for a 4th gen 97-99 with about 80k (so I can hopefully avoid the differential bearing prob) in a manual version. Ideally I would get a black SE with leather seats, digital climate control and the works. What are the benefits/downfalls of going this route and what should I look for? How much money should I spend? 6-7.5k would be nice and what sorta practical yet worth-while mods should I look into. I want this to be a slow progressive proj that will only be outfitted with the best of the best. So give all the input you max freaks got. Thanks.
Old 06-09-2005, 04:06 PM

And by the way as a side note. I do mobile electronics installations in the South East so if someone is ichin' for anything electrical, PM me. I am always looking for side work.
Old 06-09-2005, 04:13 PM
Wild for Width

I think you should find somthin you will like for that kind of money and specs you listed.

For engine, y-pipe and intake are easy mods that you will notice for not much money

For handling, getting a suspension on the Max is the best thing you can do. The motor (in stock trim) is already more than enough for the current suspension.

Best of luck for your search, wait for the right one don't settle.
Old 06-09-2005, 04:17 PM

Read the FAQs and stickies. You should be able to get something suitable in the price range you've stated.

I am not so sure that there is a finite cutoff where you know that you won't have a problem with the differential bearing, but believe its more specific to the 95/96s, rather than the 97/99s.