4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Preparations to store max for 4 months?

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2005 | 08:31 PM

Preparations to store max for 4 months?

I am studying abroad in Barcelona, Spain for the spring semester of college. I will be gone for at least 3.5 months, and my maxima will be stored outside in a parking lot.

Nobody in my family drives a stick shift and there isnt anyone that will be able to do anything more than starting the car and letting it idle or reving the engine.

What kind of preparations do I need to make before leaving, and what should I do when I get back to ensure no damage to the car. I will need an oil change soon, is it better to do it before I leave or when I get back? How much gas in the tank etc. ?
Old 12-23-2005 | 08:42 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

Probably not a good idea to store it outside for so long, if you can avoid it. Most places I just found via google say to find a dry garage. But, if you must store it outside, here are some tips:

http://searchwarp.com/swa18631.htm

Again, this site assumes you're storing inside. But, it's your car, do what you want.
Old 12-23-2005 | 08:43 PM
Under the radar

I would put some sort of fuel stabilizer into the tank. other than that just make sure its in a safe area. i live in the mountains for the winter and often leave my car unstarted for a month plus. just on restart you might want to put alittle oil in.
Old 12-24-2005 | 12:14 AM
I Broke OT

i think overinflating the tires would help so you don't get flatspots, fuel stabilizer, a car cover would definitely be a plus for outdoor use. maybe remove the battery completely or at least unplug the + cable. i'm in the same boat as you. i'm headin back to school, but my dad has agreed to take it to work once a week or so.
Old 12-24-2005 | 08:51 AM