4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Cold Air Intake

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2006, 09:20 PM

Cold Air Intake

Do you have to cut a hole in your fender to put in a cold air intake or is there another way. I just dont wanna take a chance on messing up my fender.

Also I was wondering if the ones off of ebay are just as good. Like this one

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/BOMZ-...32524570QQrdZ1
Old 01-26-2006, 09:40 PM

Im no expert but I think I recall a few pics with folks CAI's which route around front behind the radiator... There is a good write up when you first hit the org... how to's intsead of forums
Old 01-26-2006, 09:44 PM
Still chugging along...

You don't have to cut a hole for the intake you linked to. Technically, its not a true CAI because it takes in warm air in form inside the engine bay but I wont start down that road because I'm sure there are lots here who would disagree with that statement. For only a few bucks more you can get a Place Racing CAI that does require cutting a 3" hole. You can get it here: http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Place...temZ8032083763 I ordered that one and will get it tomorrow to install this weekend. NOTE: If you get the Place Racing CAI, don't bid over $75 because that seller also has Buy it Now sales, you can make a Best Offer of $75 (probably less) and the seller will take it.
Old 01-26-2006, 09:46 PM
dot dot dot ...

Originally Posted by The Deal
Im no expert but I think I recall a few pics with folks CAI's which route around front behind the radiator
I say oxymoron..
Do you know what else is behind the radiator? An exhaust manifold.. The hottest part of the engines exterior.
Old 01-26-2006, 09:54 PM

well I didnt mean that it ends behind the radiator... I meant that it looked like the pipe went behind and slightly above it to the left side of the engine bay and down... I certainly could be wrong.