4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Disappearing brake fluid

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2006, 02:41 PM
100% chingon

Disappearing brake fluid

About 3 weeks ago I took a look at the front pads and decided to change them. No problems; the brakes were great afterwards, no play in the pedal and I could get the ABS working even on a dry road, showing that there was plenty of braking power.
Over the last three or four days I noticed the pedal going soft, but the car was still stopping fine so I thought I'd leave it till the weekend. Then overnight the pedal developed far too much play, but I needed to get to school and back (yes guys I am a teacher, haha) but when it came time to drive home, I had almost no pedal at all. I found the brake reservoir **empty**. After refilling it I limped home at 20 mph and put it up on the hydraulic jack, thinking it must be either a failed caliper seal or a blown flexible.
NOTHING! All the flexibles are dry; I haven't had the wheels off but there is no trace I can see of any fluid around the calipers or inner wheel rims. I think I would have seen some traces considering the fluid reservoir is empty.
My next thoughts were the master cylinder. When that goes, it usually leaks down the brake pedal inside the car. At least, on all the cars I've had so far. But I found nothing. Pedal and carpet are dry.
I carefully examined the master cylinder, booster, and ABS controller but no visible leaks
WTF is going on? The only other thing I can think of is that an internal leak in the master cylinder is allowing fluid to be drawn into the brake booster and from there, into the vacuum line and eventually burnt by the engine.
Has anyone seen this kind of brake fault on the Max?
Old 03-03-2006, 04:12 PM
100% chingon

Update: