4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

injector project

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2006, 08:35 AM

injector project

so i had a fun project last week that i thought i would post about since i used much information from the forum to do it. my 95 max gle had been ideling poorly and had weeker exceleration over the past 2 months or so. car would almost "putter" when ideling. i was hoping to have a local technical college do the labor for free and i would just buy parts, but they claimed that the work was "more advanced than the class could handle" so yeah...yeah! anyway, i work in 12volts, so i have some intuition, but i am not a mechanic by anymeans, and i really dont enjoy working on engines.

so first step, i pulled the spark plugs and found that the plug in cylinder #1 was all gummed up. put in a new plug and the problem didnt change, so i then got a new coil from a junk yard maxima and the problem still didnt change. at that point i assumed it was the injector. since i know maximas are notorious for injector problems i decide i want to get a NEW one instead of a junk yard one that might only last 1,000 miles and go bad on me.

so i call my buddy at the local nissan dealership. he hooks me up with the nissan injector, upper and lower O rings, and the intake manifold gasket for $103 i think it was. i price i was more than happy to pay.

so i read through a couple of write-ups on how to take off the intake manifold and proceded to do so. the project wasnt overly difficult or anything. some of the hoses are a pain to get off, but i managed to do so. to get the injector out, i had to remove the fuel rail and bring it over to the work bench, but that was only 2 extra hoses to get that out of the car. also, according to a local shop each injector should read between 10-14 ohms. all of mine read inside those specs except the faulty one which read open.