4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Axle removal/Tranny replacement

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2006, 06:14 PM

Axle removal/Tranny replacement

So I am into day one of my tranny change. As usual it is taking 3 times as long as it should cause I have never done this before and there is some hangup with every step... I have gotten to the point of pulling the axles out... I can't get the driver side axle out. (I haven't even tried the pass side yet) I was under the impression that you just pry it out. Is there some magic trick? I've already gotten the axle out of the steering knuckle. Please help me... And I know what your thinking... if I can't get the axle out why am I trying to change the tranny... shut up!

Old 08-18-2006, 06:48 PM

oh my '99 auto w/ LSD... I just yanked it hard a few time and it came out. There's a snapring in there that prevents it from coming out, a few hard tugs and it oughta budge.
Old 08-18-2006, 06:48 PM
Armed and Dangerous

It just pulls out. If you're using a pry bar on it and still can't get it out then something is wrong... like the snap ring on the end of the axle got twisted in there. Maybe it happened back when the axle was first installed. Could try removing the passenger axle first, then using a long screw driver and a hammer to knock out the end the driver's side axle through the differential.
Old 08-18-2006, 06:53 PM
SLOW

did you try banging on the handle of the prybar with a mallet? a sharp impact like that might be necessary to pop it loose.
Old 08-18-2006, 07:52 PM

PASSANGER SID U NEED TO TAKE OFF THE 3 10mm bolts first....!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! DONT FORGET
But u should be able to pry it out easily...
Old 08-18-2006, 08:26 PM