4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

What the hell does the EVAP canister do?

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2001, 06:41 PM
...needs to please stop post whoring.

What does the EVAP canister do?

I am getting two trouble codes, both pointing to the same problem. 0705 and 0309....

0705 = EVAP control system leak?

0309 = EVAP canister vent control valve open

How does this EVAP canister work, does it clean the gasoline of foreign substances or what? I understand it involved emissions..

Also, I wanted to know if these things can lead to poor gas milage? I think the ghost of poor fuel economy hunts me, I will get only around 270 miles on this tank of gas... It's either that or I am a REALLY aggressive driver, although I never get bad gas milage on other cars.

Can anyone help me out? I am not quite sure that I understand what the sticky at the top states. I want to know if it can cause poor fuel economy as well...
thanks.

Steve
Old 08-22-2001, 07:04 PM

From Haynes:

The Evaporative Emissions Control (EVAP) system absorbs fuel vapors and, during engine operation, releases them into the engine intake where they mix with the incoming air-fuel mixture. The EVAP system consists of a charcoal-filled canister and the lines connecting the canister to the fuel tank, ported vacuum and intake manifold vacuum.

When the engine is not operating fuel vapors are transferred from the fuel tank, throttle body and intake manifold to the charcoal canister where they are stored. When the engine is running, the fuel vapors are purged from the canister by the purge control valve. The gasses are consumed in the normal combustion process.

Do you sometimes smell fuel fumes when you are running your engine? That might be due to a cracked canister or compromised fuel line or vapor hoses. This would explain both your lowered fuel economy as well as your trouble codes.