4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

daniel b martin... i have another question

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2001, 03:22 PM

daniel b martin... i have another question

sorry if i'm becoming a pain. i'm trying to educate myself as fast and correct as i can, but i'm new to the whole idea of fixing my own car. i truly appreciate all of you for your patience with me.
now that i've fixed my mafs, the only problem is that my idle is very, very low ... any lower and the car will stall. i'm looking at my haynes manual all day & doing my best, but i hit a snag. i reset the idle speed via the adjustment screw, and now she's back to 700ish rpms... running great. my question is this; is it possible that by cleaning the throttle body (for the first time in 112,000 miles) and replacing the mafs, that i needed an idle adjustment? i did the check where you let it idle and throw the a/c to max - passed that test no problem. i get no codes now either. i'd really appreciate your opinion. i did a search here on "idle" and noticed that you had told someone else that adjutsing the idle may only mask other problems. i get no code, so i'm hoping it's just the recent change in my mafs and that "path". as always, thanks.
maury
Old 10-05-2001, 11:27 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

Re: daniel b martin... i have another question

Originally posted by Maury
sorry if i'm becoming a pain. i'm trying to educate myself as fast and correct as i can, but i'm new to the whole idea of fixing my own car. i truly appreciate all of you for your patience with me.