4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

rear brake prob

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2001, 01:52 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

rear brake prob

here is the problem;

my wife has a 1999 nissam maxima and it has 45000 miles on it. the car runs great, but last week she had the squealing comming from the brakes. i took the car to pep boys(my trusted friends work there) and was informed the right rear was metal to metal and the left rear rotor needed replacement. and the front brakes were in perfect condition. i had pep boys replace brakes and rotors. i am not a novice to car repair, so my question is, has any one had a simular prob? i am thinking this might be a prob with the Proportioning valve. thanks for and info.
Pat Boytis
Old 10-24-2001, 03:07 PM
My other car is a Hybrid

Re: rear brake prob

Originally posted by is5150
here is the problem;

my wife has a 1999 nissam maxima and it has 45000 miles on it. the car runs great, but last week she had the squealing comming from the brakes. i took the car to pep boys(my trusted friends work there) and was informed the right rear was metal to metal and the left rear rotor needed replacement. and the front brakes were in perfect condition. i had pep boys replace brakes and rotors. i am not a novice to car repair, so my question is, has any one had a simular prob? i am thinking this might be a prob with the Proportioning valve. thanks for and info.
Pat Boytis
I only have 40K on my car...about 30K on the Stillen brake pads in back... I just checked a couple of months ago and I still have about 60% or more... I think your wife's car is going thru the rear pads quite fast (even OEM pads). Keep a close watch on it... look at the pad material every 10K when you take of the rear wheels.
Old 10-24-2001, 04:26 PM
VG Ridah's Biatch Hoe

here is the problem;