4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

need internal view of 5spd trans

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2007, 04:54 PM
Whatchyou say?

need internal view of 5spd trans

Hey ... just like the title says, I need an exploded internal view for the 5spd. I am getting ready to crack my case and do a bearing and seal kit, but I have never done a 5spd before. (have done auto tranyz ... but it's been a while) Is there anyone that might know where I could find a break down of what is inside the trans? I have read the Motorvate (very good - but is there something better anywhere?) I am just affraid that when I get into it, I will be lost.

I have a Haynes (sucks!) but I can't find anything better really.

Anyway ... any help would be much appreciated.
Old 12-31-2007, 05:38 PM

subscribing. where did you get your rebuild kit? im about to get one from drivetrain.com. I didnt want to buy the syncros either since they add 200 bucks to the kit for them..hopefully the ones in the tranny are in good condition.

you dont have an FSM?

also, i see alot of threads like this coming up lately I think we should make a better how-to with more pictures or something. the idea is intimidating me too which is why i havent gotten around to ordering my kit yet...but if it only takes a few days to do, thats awesome. okay im done talking now.
Old 12-31-2007, 07:51 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Check out the factory service manual... They have a blown up diagram of all the transmission internals...
Old 12-31-2007, 10:19 PM
No more Maximas...

Anything else you need?

Last edited by pmohr; 01-17-2008 at 12:25 PM.
Old 12-31-2007, 10:59 PM
Whatchyou say?

Awsome! Thanks mate!