4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Front Timing cover seal........

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2009, 09:42 PM

Front Timing cover seal........

Alldata says 13 hours to do... has anyone attempted this? Mine is leaking pretty good. Oil is all over my alternator, a/c compressor, basically all over the place. i can smell it occasionally. I know the oil is on the corner of my exhaust manifold. I have all the right tools to do it. Along with a lift and everything. ( I am a technician, used to be a infiniti tech two years ago, but no one ever wanted this job done lol ) Is it worth it is my question, ive always wanted a maxima and i want this one to last. a while, it has 136k on it. Anyone got any suggestions? one of the infinit techs told me he attempted this on a customers car and HE ended up buying her a new engine.. ( he was a nissan/infiniti tech for 10 years).. Nervous lol
Old 03-23-2009, 11:23 PM
No more Maximas...

It's not a hard job, per se, it's mostly a bunch of tedious crap.

Are you 100% sure it's the front cover? The area you speak of sounds almost like a very bad valve cover leak. Odd for it to be leaving oil so high up, on the exhaust manifold. Especially for the front cover, that doesn't really make sense.

I say just go with a 3.5 swap

How did he screw it up badly enough to need a new engine installed?
Old 03-24-2009, 03:48 AM
Newbie - Just Registered

I have a similar issue. Mine was leaking from the rear VC gasket and around the OPS... I fixed this but have another leak in the front.

Mine is leaking down between the AC compressor bracket and the upper oil pan. The oil seems to leak just above where the upper oil pan meets the engine block but I cannot see beyond this to see the source. I do not see any oil on the exhaust or alternator.