4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Stuck caliper pins

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2009, 09:25 AM

Stuck caliper pins

I've tried Liquid Wrench on the pins and even tool the brake mount off and using a vice tried to dislodge the square head of pin, nothing doing.

Does that product PB Blaster make any difference?

Damn the salt in Canada does a job on the pins. Changed brakes almost two years ago, a good maintenance chore is regreasing pins once a year.
Old 05-10-2009, 10:08 AM

PB Blaster in my opinion is the best penetrating oil there is. I live in Pittsburgh and they love to throw salt on the roads in the winter because of the hilly terrain. I use PB Blaster all of the time, and I can definitely say it works better than WD40, but I have no experience with Liquid Wrench.
Old 05-10-2009, 03:54 PM

Blaster is much better than WD-40, look for a product call Deep Creep by Sea Foam or a product called Kroil or Aerokroil all excellence penetrating fluids. You are likely to still need some heat via mapp gas or the like. I had one freeze up on my '97 a couple of years back. Heat and vise grips. And then pack the darn things with syn. brake grease.
Old 05-10-2009, 05:26 PM

Well someone told me heat and immediately throw cold water on it.

I just hope don't melt the rubber boot on the pin.
Old 05-10-2009, 08:43 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

if it's that seized, replace the bracket & pins. you didn't say, but i bet you're working on the rear. if so, that's where the pins usually seize. if you catch the problem early enough
you can save the pins & brackets. but when heat is needed, it's usually better to replace the parts so that they can still function properly. if you free it without heat, try to clean the slide hole thoroughly and use synthetic caliper grease. g/l
Old 05-10-2009, 11:19 PM