4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

My first Car will be a Maxima

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2012, 08:11 PM

My first Car will be a Maxima

Hello all. I have saved up 2500 for a car and In my search for reliable cars, I have decided to go with the Maxima. I have always liked the Maxima, and so I have found a 1997 on Craigslist for 2200 $. I will be having a look at the car soon and I was wondering what I should look for to make sure the car is in good condition? I am no mechanic, and so I was wondering if the Maxima enthusiasts here could give me some quick tips to make sure everything is A-ok. Please be specific as possible and thank you! I am very excited.
Old 09-23-2012, 08:20 PM

the big thing on the maxima is lower radiator support...if it's rusted out (like with most northern cars it is), that's a b!tch and a half to repair...

Since you make no mention as to where the hell you are in this big ol' country of ours...

Thee are other issues, search around the forums and look at the "stickies" on the top of each of the subforums for more information.
Old 09-23-2012, 08:30 PM

Excellent choice.

+1 on the core support. Other than that the car is pretty reliable with just the normal maintenance issues.

It's also great to have this forum to help you with any issues you may have with the car.
Old 09-23-2012, 08:49 PM

97-98 is probably the best choice

Nice choice. Pretty much depends on mileage. Its a 15 year old car so be prepared to replace worn out parts like any other typical car. Engine wise, its pretty reliable. Transmission wise, it seems like the auto seems to outlast the Manual Transmission ( This is my personal experience, other may say otherwise.)

Good luck.
Old 09-23-2012, 08:55 PM

Originally Posted by Amerikaner83