4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

96 maxima hard start, no idle after 00vi install

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2015, 10:51 AM

96 maxima hard start, no idle after 00vi install

Hello to the maxima.org community. I have greatly appreciated all of your advice, wisdom, and information in the past and and have a problem that I just can't seem to figure out. This post will probably be long, so apologies in advance. Yes, I have searched...extensively. I may not be the first with this problem, but I don't think it is very common.

BACKSTORY: I have had a 96 nissan maxima 5 speed for the past 7 years and it has been a great car. I have been working as an A&P (aircraft) mechanic for the past 5 years, so I'd like to believe I'm not a complete idiot and have at least some understanding of the way things work with mechanical and electrical systems. This past summer I finally decided to do some of the mods that everyone wants to do b/c I had time, an extra vehicle, etc. I wanted to do an 00vi with VAFC-2, ebay stainless y pipe, etc. I decided to just pull the engine and transmission (I know this is overkill, but I wanted to take everything apart, clean it up, paint valve covers, etc.). My water pump went out (not just the seals, the pump itself seized), so I replaced that.

GENERAL INFO: My 00vi swap used all 5th gen components including Upper and Lower intake, Injectors and fuel rail (with both fpr hooked up correctly to the stock delivery and return fuel lines), rear valve cover with 5th gen coils, 5th gen throttle body with IACV (see below for more info and 4th gen).