4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Car starts, idles okish, power quickly drops off under load

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2017, 04:34 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Car starts, idles okish, power quickly drops off under load

Having trouble with my 1999 Cal Spec Maxima SE.

Specifically, it will start reliably and idle more or less OK. It's idled better in the past but it's not about to stall or anything. If it's put into gear, it can back up, and drive forward. For about 10-20 seconds, and then power drops off and the car barely moves.

Removing the Bank 1 Sensor 1 O2 sensor(the one near the firewall) improves idle performance slightly, have not attempted to drive in this condition.

Background- I've been losing power for several months. Back in august, I replaced the fuel filter, power improved a bit but not greatly. October, new spark plugs. This was a night and day improvement... for a few days. A couple weeks ago, the car wouldn't start at all. A new fuel pump got it starting if the key was turned directly to start, but not if I paused at "on". A new fuel pressure regulator fixed that, and brought it to the performance described at the top of the post.

MAF sensor has been cleaned. In response to codes, the B1S1 O2 sensor and Camshaft Position Sensor have been replaced. Current codes, I don't recall the numbers but the CPS code is back, the B1S2 O2 sensor is throwing a code, and the knock sensor is throwing a code. I've inspected the air intake hose for leaks, as I saw that mentioned as a possible issue, it's fine.
Old 02-01-2017, 09:37 PM

The knock sensor is a ghost code, disregard unless it's the only code remaining in the system.