4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Switching to synthetic oil

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2017, 02:48 PM

Switching to synthetic oil

I have a 98 I30 with 160K on the clock. I want it to run past 300,000 miles. I am thinking of switching to using synthetic oil. No problems. The car runs great. I plan on keeping this car until it dies. It is the best car I have ever had. I own a 2014 Rav4 and I still prefer to drive my I30. I have been running TCW3 in it for 5 years and it is smooth as silk. Has anyone encountered problems switching to synthetic oil. I drive it about 8,000 miles a year, mostly to work.
Old 06-30-2017, 03:37 PM

Do you have any leaks around the front or rear of the engine today? I switched all of my used 4th gens to a high mileage synthetic to get the seal conditioners.

Last edited by CS_AR; 06-30-2017 at 09:04 PM.
Old 06-30-2017, 03:50 PM

I have the common upper oil pan leak. It is not very bad. I don't have to add oil in between changes. It leaves a small spot on the ground.
Old 06-30-2017, 04:07 PM
JvG

I have installed synthetic oil on several of my cars over the years. No problem if the engine does not leak.

I have read stories about existing leaks becoming worse. High mileager synthetic makes a lot of sense.

I got my maxima with 100k on it in 2006. Now it has over 200k on it. I run either Mobile One, or O'reillys.
Oil changes at 7 to 8k. Mostly freeway miles.
Old 06-30-2017, 04:23 PM
Administrator

Not Maxima related, but once I switched to synthetic on my 92 camaro back in 1995 and instantly had an oil leak. Switched back to dino oil and the leak went away.
Old 07-01-2017, 10:59 AM

Why would synthetic oil cause leaks? I do know the molecules are more uniform, but all oil is slippery.
Old 08-01-2017, 02:04 AM