5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

A couple '02 trani questions...

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2002, 12:16 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

A couple '02 trani questions...

A few months ago I graduated from a white '89 SE w/ 230K miles to an '02 Sterling Mist SE. Unfortunately, it's a wife-o-matic. But I really like the car. Very glad I didn't get the Altima!

Anyway, occasionally I get the trani slippage between 1st and 2nd gear. From all of the posts I've read, this appears to be a known issue only with the '00 Max's. Allegedly, this problem has been cured in the '02 Max's. Are there other '02 owners who are also getting the dreaded slip? Have you gotten it fixed. How?

Finally, moving the shift lever out of park very difficult. Even when parked on a perfectly level surface. It feels like it would if you had parked on a steep incline and didn't use the parking brake. It will do this even if you stop the car put it in Park and then immediately try to shift out of park while the brake is on. Anyone else experience this? Any known fixes? Any advice before I approach the dealer?

Thanks.
Old 08-27-2002, 12:25 PM

For me in my '02 the dreaded "slip" happens right between 40 and 50 mph, anywhere else its fine. The dealership has no solution, if you find one please let me know. Otherwise the car is awesome! (Never had the shifter problem though.)
Old 08-27-2002, 12:41 PM

I do have a hard time shift out of park when the car was brand new. But it's getting better now. Could you specific describe the slip between 1st and 2nd gear? Is it on auto or 6 speed?

Thanks.
Old 08-27-2002, 12:50 PM

It's an automatic (wife-o-matic) and it is the classic slip described elsewhere.