5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Extended Warranty

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2002, 09:38 AM

Extended Warranty

I have a 2002 SE (not modded in any way, but plan to in the near future). Have most people gone with an extended warranty or is the Max a pretty solid car. (I have no prior experience with Nissan cars) If you have gone with the extended warranty, which one did you get. I have about 24,000 and at the rate I put miles on, 30k will be here in no time. All replies are appreciated.........
Old 10-01-2002, 09:45 AM
It's chrome alright...

Re: Extended Warranty

I've had 2 extended warranties, one on a honda that was a waste of money... they just don't break. The other was on a ford f-150. I told the dealer I felt a buzz in the transmission and got a new one, so I guess that one paid for itself.

There are plenty of Maximas with 150k miles... how long do you plan to own the car? How many miles will you put on it during that time? Will the extended warranty run out before you plan to sell? How much is it? Is it limited to the dealer who supplies the extended warranty (some limit where you can go for repairs)? Will modding void the extended warranty? Exactly what's covered?

these are all things you should find out first. Personally I think it's a waste of money (there wasn't really anything wrong with the ford tranny, I got a new one because I was selling it to a friend and he wanted it).

Originally posted by nfisher50
I have a 2002 SE (not modded in any way, but plan to in the near future). Have most people gone with an extended warranty or is the Max a pretty solid car. (I have no prior experience with Nissan cars) If you have gone with the extended warranty, which one did you get. I have about 24,000 and at the rate I put miles on, 30k will be here in no time. All replies are appreciated.........
Old 10-01-2002, 10:18 AM